Deals
Pro pbid 1051257

A sweeping chronicle of world civilizations: This detailed portrait of the waterways — and cultures — of the world is a “sturdy keel for any maritime history collection” (Booklist).

$10.99 $2.99

Available for a limited time

Category: History

Pro pbid 3794365

A vivid and harrowing history: Experience World War I through the eyes of the four Canadian Highland regiments that formed the 16th Battalion — a group that faced the brutality of war with courage and at great cost.

$5.99 $1.99

Available for a limited time

Category: History

Pro pbid 4208118

Journey back in time to the creation of the pyramids! This concise history chronicles the rise and development of ancient Egypt across 3,000 years, as well as the archaeological discoveries that have revealed the land’s long-buried secrets.

$9.99 $1.99

Available for a limited time

Category: History

Pro pbid 385767

Joan of Arc is a figure of legend — but who was she in real life? This vivid portrait of France’s national heroine is “convincing and gripping… A highly satisfying biography” (The New York Times Book Review).

$9.99 $1.99

Available for a limited time

Category: History

Pro pbid 998231

Despite the country’s size, England has made an enormous impact on human history. This engrossing volume spans many centuries, illuminating how events like the Norman Conquest and the defeat of the Spanish Armada changed the world.

$9.99 $1.99

Available for a limited time

Category: History

Pro pbid 3517328

This “staggering and important” history (Chicago Tribune) examines a German Reserve Police Battalion responsible for atrocities during World War II — and explores the motives that led ordinary soldiers to evil. “Remarkable… singularly chilling… A major contribution to the literature of the Holocaust” (Newsweek).

$7.99 $1.99

Available for a limited time

Category: History

Pro pbid 1204817

Galileo Galilei and Isaac Newton couldn’t have been more different in temperament, yet both men revolutionized science with their bold discoveries. In these pages, their groundbreaking accomplishments in mathematics, physics, and astronomy are brought to life.

$9.99 $1.99

Available for a limited time

Category: History

Pro pbid 3942284

Toward the end of the Cold War, a ragtag band of crooks attempted to take over a Caribbean country and transform it into a haven for criminals. Here, their doomed mission is recounted in striking detail. “An engaging and incredible account… extensively researched and well-written” (The Washington Times).

$11.99 $1.99

Available for a limited time

Category: History

Pro pbid 1195145

Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, this fascinating book follows the tumultuous lives of the real women who inhabited a famous manor over three centuries. “Lovers of modern English history and the scandals that infiltrated upper-crust society will find much to enjoy in this work” (Library Journal).

$13.99 $1.99

Available for a limited time

Category: History

Pro pbid 3639804

In the arenas of Rome, deadly combat became the ultimate spectacle. This comprehensive history explores the brutal sports that captivated ancient crowds, from wild animal hunts to violent clashes between gladiators.

$11.89 $1.99

Available for a limited time

Category: History

Pro pbid 1240174

From a New York Times bestselling author and winner of the National Book Award: A conqueror in European history, Charlemagne made significant contributions to military strategy, economics, and Christianity. This thrilling narrative details his exploits and the lasting effects of his reign.

$9.99 $0.99

Available for a limited time

Category: History

Pro pbid 17616

On December 7, 1941, an unprecedented attack devastated an American naval base at Pearl Harbor. Follow the extraordinary true stories of the ships and crews that went to war in the wake of that infamous day.

$9.99 $1.99

Available for a limited time

Category: History

Pro pbid 4216134

This vivid, sweeping history of Japan explores centuries of the country’s storied past — from the founding of Kyoto to the rise and fall of the aristocracy to the end of World War II.

$9.99 $1.99

Available for a limited time

Category: History

Pro pbid 3609521

Discover the circumstances that led ordinary French citizens to rebel in a monumental revolution. This exemplary history analyzes the major players and events in this infamous period — from the execution of nobility to the attack on the Bastille.

$9.99 $1.99

Available for a limited time

Category: History

Pro pbid 3970912

Veteran Marine George Peto shares the story of his astonishing journey from a farm in Great Depression–era Ohio to four Pacific campaigns during World War II. This riveting memoir is an unforgettable wartime account that’s perfect for military history buffs!

$9.99 $0.99

Available for a limited time

Category: History